Granny-licious-ness!

Well Hello!

It’s lovely to be blogging this morning… these past few days have been long… classes, classes, work… more work, isn’t it annoying how life gets in the way of crafting and blogging sometimes!!!  I sound as though I’m complaining… it actually wasn’t too bad, my classes were very interesting anyway.  Last night when I got home from work I was so tired, I was falling asleep into my knitting!  No mistakes made though!  I checked this morning.  And how lovely was it, to be able to stay up last night, long after my usual bedtime, knowing I had no alarm going off in the morning… I’ve been excited for the last few days!  About today!  Because I’ve been really wanting to show you all my latest FO, which I finished DAYS ago, but haven’t been home in the sunlight since, to photograph!

But before we get down to crochet business, I had two queries about the bushman’s toilet paper from last post.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, quickly scroll down to the next post and have a squizz at the photo.   The answer to the questions “Is Bushman’s toilet paper as scratchy as it looks?”  is No, not really!  It’s quite soft!  Plus, the saying “Beggars can’t be choosers” pops into my mind…!!!  It’s an amazing leaf, you can write all over it too!  NZ native plants are amazing… we happen to know of a plant which grows all over the show, which when you boil the leaves into tea, makes you feel veeeeeeeery relaxed and happy!

OK.  Crochet business.  Remember these?

That’s right!  The Lovely Lucy’s Summer Garden Granny Square Pattern has featured in my blog a few times… I just have to say, that I am so impressed with anyone who has the staying power to crochet a blanket.  I happen to know of many bloggers who have made multiple blankets!  *WOW*  I salute you!  When I learned to crochet in April, I made a lap blanket and then decided to tackle a granny square blanket.  This is when I began my blog… to track my progress.  Well… as you can see, I didn’t get very far!  52 granny squares in total, and they have been stuffed into a cupboard while I explored new and bold crochet and knitting frontiers!  I just couldn’t take this WIP lying around any longer, so I decided to get them out and make a cushion.

And I love it.

Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!  On my last day off, I grabbed them out of their bag and laid them on the bed to see how they’d look…

Fab as you can see!  Remember my mum’s sheep?  Well, Mum is all about natural undyed fibre, it’s her thing.  I like colour, but I also have a love for undyed fibre, so I made these grannys colourful on the inside and used natural around the edges.  my reasoning was, it would fit in with our decor better, and I’m glad I did, I love the result.

Hooking them together was no problem… until I finished and remembered Oh!  You hook the inside loops together, not the outside loops!  tee hee… no worries, it turned out fine, like I was going to frog that!

And here it is.  Remember this is my first granny square thing I’ve really made apart from multiple granny squares and one giant granny!

My Summer Garden Granny Square Cushion (!!!)

Oh how I love to sit and look at those colours!  Circles of jewels spinning around!

And the best part is… these are still many grannys left, for a few more cushions to decorate my day bed… so watch this space for more granny goodness!

 

So things may look the same on the surface of my blog, but big things are happening behind the scenes!  Now I’ve become more involved with ravelry, and put some of my patterns into their database, I have so many visitors coming to my blog!  My granny mandala pattern has had over 400 hits in the last few days alone, it’s just great!  So to all of those Ravelers who are coming to visit, welcome!  I hope you enjoy yourselves!  And to all my blog friends who leave me a comment on every single post… well… you’re just the best.  Blogging just wouldn’t be worth it if you hadn’t, to be honest!  So lots of love extended to you from me AND my furry little buddy who loves you all too.  I barely had a moment to do anything the last few days and I missed seeing what you’ve all been up to, so today, I’ll get to have a catch up on what’s happening in your lives.  Fab.

OK, I’m off… theres breakfast to be eaten, study to do, knitting to finish, more knitting to start!

Lots and lots of love to you from Alice and Raymond XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Granny-licious-ness!

  1. Love those pillows! I’m in the process of making some myself!

  2. Amanda says:

    I am *so* far behind on blog commenting, please forgive me! I took a blogging break and actually managed to finally finish sorting out the house… the energy felt all wrong and so I chose new images for all our frames (unicorns, dragons and wolves now adorn most walls, with a few faeries, a nature scene or two and even one of Brighid!), we cleansed all our crystals, smudged the rooms and donated another three boxes of books and games and films along with sending old furniture and tvs to be recycled… phew it feels sooo much better now, but it does mean I go way behind on commenting!! So please forgive the bulk comment for your previous posts…

    The granny squares are just gorgeous, I adore the contrast between the brightness of the colours and the muted feel to the natural yarn! I am always amazed how much crochet you manage to get done… I always have so many projects on the go I never seem to finish anything!

    The Botanical Gardens look glorious, so different to the ones over here in the UK in many ways but there are similarities in there too ;o)

    The rainbow cushion cover is just wonderful… exactly what one needs to look at to brighten the Spirit… also great colour therapy for balancing the chakras!!

    And your mums sheep are too funny… oh I love them so much, how lucky you are to get to go and visit them!

    I hope I haven’t forgotten to comment on anything… love you you and KB and Raymond xx

  3. Andrea says:

    I think that’s an awesome pillow! I love crochet motifs. I’ve done a couple granny square blankets and I know they can get a bit boring and tedious. I even did one that was just a giant granny square. I kept working in the round until it was 5 feet in diameter! It took me forever and even though it turned out great, I was so sick of it when I finished! haha!

  4. Debi Y. says:

    I love the cushion – great colors. I’m gonna have to make some of those squares. :)

  5. jacey conroy says:

    What a gorgeous cushion, I am in the progress of making a cushion myself but it is very slow going about a square a week at the moment, due to the combination of school holidays and getting side tracked with other lovely things I see to make.
    I love your bunting, this is going on my to do list, it would look wonderful in my little girls room.
    Jacey

  6. renee says:

    Love it with the natural grey! Really brings the bright colours out!

  7. sandiart says:

    Another beautiful piece of crafty greatness, go Alice!!!
    Sandi xx

  8. Leah says:

    I love the natural grey around the edges. Nice job….I totally agree with the blanket thing. Im half way thu two and Ive lost interest….doh

  9. PosyLinda says:

    Super granny-licious would be more like it! I absolutely adore the bright colors with the natural yarn. It’s fabulous. Way to go!!!!! By the way the tatooed birdies are pretty cool….. Congratulations Alice!

  10. Teacup Lane says:

    Your granny square pillow is stunning. I love granny squares because I love changing colors. I’m working on my “Merry Kringle” granny square throw. I’m thinking of doing another one in red and white granny squares.

  11. inkberryblue says:

    You have a lovely sense of colour!
    Thanks so much for visiting inkberryblue. I’ve been looking through, and really enjoying, your blog too. I’ll have to come back!
    Happy Sunday.
    =)

  12. I just LOVE those colours! And I always think a neutral edge is good. I like black too, to show off those jewel colours. I’m hooked on willow squares at the moment, but will get back to grannies soon!

  13. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, oh thank you for the toilet paper info. I love learning new stuff. Would love to get to New Zealand one day, it’s on our travel list. Just looks to be such a beautiful place, and I would bring back a suitcase full of yarn. I just love your granny cushion, its beautiful. I have only the 1 granny rug which I did a while back in the neutral cotton and did the flowers dotted through. I love it, and snuggle under it each night to relax. I have started another in a purple, teal and burnt orange colours, however, since being introduced to Mrs Twins, this has been put aside. Most of my crochet rugs are the ripple (or I call it Grandma Zig Zag), but grannys are go.

    There just don’t seem enough hours in the day for craft me thinks. Maybe there should be one designated craft day of the week. You know, we work 4 days, then make craftday. I feel sorry for those that don’t craft at all, but how fun would it be to teach them all.

    Have a lovely week, I will share my granny circle when I fix it. lol. promise. xx

  14. jules says:

    Hi Alice, your grannies look fantastic, the colours work really well all together, great job!
    Aren’t granny squares addictive? I am making some too at the moment, it is so much fun, I keep laying them out in different combinations, I call it my crochet play! Have a great day! Jules

  15. Alice that is lovely…I really like the natural wool surrounding the colour. I have lots of brown alpaca (that still has to be spun!) maybe I should make a cushion cover with that?

  16. spear401 says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when a project fits right in, as if it was meant to be?

    Renee, spear401

  17. Wendy says:

    Hello, just found your blog (via ravelry, I’m mrsmoodswing!) I love that your cushion was intended to be a blanket because I’m always downsizing projects. My latest was going to be a cushion cover and ended up being an mp3 player case. I also have a bag that was going to be a blanket and a neckwarmer that was going to be a scarf. Hmm, I’m sensing a lack of dedication on my part…. Anyway I shall enjoy reading through the other entries and Raymond is absolutely beautiful!

  18. I was able to click on the link under the patterns section….

    Thank you!

  19. Erica says:

    LOVE all those grannies! Well done to you for finishing them all up! One of my favorite parts of crocheting something larger, like an afghan made up of composite pieces, IS the very laying out of blocks and experimenting with color combinations. You’d think I was 4 years old again, amazed by and obsessed with color – but there we are. Love your cushion; I think that outer round of neutral really sets off the colors inside.

  20. Louise says:

    I LOVE the natural looking borders with the bright jewel colours! Well done, your pillow is fabulous!!!

  21. Patz says:

    My goodness Alice! trying to place a comment is getting terribly difficult!! you are becoming a star in the blog world, well done!! I love love love your cushion, and how the colours pop with the natural edging! I am really far behind, and need a little more sleep before I can get back into hooky mode myself, but in the meantime, I shall drool all over your work, if you don’t mind! ;-p XOX

  22. Dorien says:

    As promised, a little comment on your grannies! They look awesome. I would never have thought that an undyed grey yarn would look so gorgious. This way the colours really stand out. Great job!

  23. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice! I do like this with grey! Even all the colours are so important to me I also love grey, light, dark…all of them and I think I would like to use in my next crochet work grey around like you have!
    Wishes Teje

  24. Love your cushion! Great idea to crochet the wool around the edge! I’ve been wanting to make a couple pillows for a long time and you just gave me some great ideas!
    Have A Good Day! ~Olivia

Leave a Reply

