Rainbow addictions!

Hello and thank you for popping in!

It’s a lovely sunny day here today, and I heard on the radio that spring is officially here in the southern hemisphere… evidenced by the pollen blowing everywhere and the rising temperatures… oh and the daffodils and lambs!  It was warm enough to go for a walk in shorts and a t-shirt today, things are looking promising!  Raymond is currently lying in the sun sleeping (he has a great life doesn’t he?) and rainbows from my rainbow harvesting system (11 prisms hanging in the window) are spinning around my lounge… all in all it’s a beautiful, perfect day.  AND… it’s not even lunch-time, so there’s heaps of the day left to enjoy. 

I was looking around my lounge appreciating the loveliness of it the other day and just had to take a photo of my creative corner for you to see where I spend so much time, hooking, knitting, drinking coffee, eating chocolate, occasionally blogging and blog-surfing!

Despite living a 5 minute drive from the centre of Wellington central city, KB and I are lucky enough to live in a flat where we have beautiful spacious hill views.  I love it when people walk through our front door and see our views… it’s just the best.

Did you see my latest project on the go?

I was finishing the last few rows on my bed yesterday, when….

 

Bugger!  I ran out of dark purple 20 stitches from the end of the row!  As it was the front of the cushion I just couldn’t change purple in the middle of the row, so I had to mission over to Mum’s shop to buy another ball so I could finish it.

This is a seriously bright cushion… in fact, I really struggled to photograph it… it was so bright on my little digital camera screen, I gave up on it, but on the computer, the pics are coming up lovely!  So here is the finished pillow!

Photographing this cushion was a hilarious experience.  It just looked so bright on my camera it actually hurt the eyes to look at.  I tried taking photos at night with the flash on, in the morning flash off, closing the curtains flash off, outside flash off… in the end I gave up!  It turned out fine anyway!

Uplifting rainbow goodness….

I’m just loving it!  My only problem is where to place it… it is truly so bright it doesn’t go with much of my decor.

Something else I’m loving at the moment is ravelry!  I’ve just started exploring ravelry more thoroughly… I had no idea there were so many groups and all sorts!  It’s like facebook but so much better!  Look me up if you’re on there!  My ravelry name is crochetwthraymond.  There just weren’t enough letters for the whole name…

So that’s enough from me… I have big plans for this afternoon involving the botanical gardens,  my camera and spring flowers.

Lots of happy blessings to you, from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Rainbow addictions!

  1. PosyLinda says:

    Uplifting rainbow is a good name for this cushion. It is very bright and happy! Just like Raymond. Good job Alice!!!!!!!!

  2. Fiona says:

    Great cushion. I’m just starting out with crochet and slowly getting hooked … I see some granny squares in my future!

    I’m on Ravelry as FJT … but only 2 crochet projects on there so far.

  3. Andrea says:

    What a great view!

    And yes, your pillow is bright, but it looks so cheerful :)

  4. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond, oh wow, you scare me girl, you really do scare me. Ok, let’s forget for the moment about the farm incident photos, and focus on today’s post. I got up this morning to the beautiful sun shining on our garden, clear blue skies, walked outside to get in the car to take my boys to school and the smell, oooohhhhh that feint stirring of spring, I could smell it. There is no breeze here today, it’s crystal clear and just perfect, but there is that hint of spring in the air, and I so love that ever so gentle reminder that soon our gardens will be bursting, the days will be longer, and the chill will recede. So you can smell it at your place too then. Isn’t it wonderful! Although I love winter, to be able to welcome the fresh green of Spring is a joy. Not that I want to pack my crochet away just yet thank you. oh no, I still love the cool evenings and fresh mornings.
    I so love your new cushion, those colours are beautiful. I also love where you have placed it for the photos too. And that view. oh yes, I can see why your chair is placed just so. Perfect.
    Have a wonderful day at your place.

  5. Maria says:

    I so want to sit in that chair, what fantastic views. I am sure nothing but crochet and knitting and reading and eating would get done if I sat there – Guess I LOVE IT!!!!

    Also loving the rainbow cushion. It would so cheer up a little dark space

  6. renee says:

    You have a beautiful spot to stitch with beautiful views! I’m envious of that comfy looking space! And your bright cushion is great – I love the rainbow colours! My crappy little camera always has difficulty taking photos of bright colours too. Your photos have turned out well.

  7. Raymond is a sweetie!!

    Bright cushion and a good one :-)

    Love that footstool, what stone is that…it looks like rose quartz??!!!

    I am on Ravelry as Baamekniits….not much action over there tho for me, I run out of time :-)

  8. sandiart says:

    LUCKY you Alice, Spring ohhhh, sigh. It was bitterly cold here today, I can’t wait for Spring my most beloved season (apart from the Heyfever, but I live in hope that I don’t get it, however I get stuck into natural herbs to build up a bit of immunity to it) I am going to have to copy that cushion cover for my mum, she has knitted a rainbow throw and has all sorts of things on it, butterflys, buttons, flowers, she has embroidered on it as well, so a cushion like that would go beautifully.
    I can’t get over how quickly you make things. I started another little dress for my cousins little girl and….have pulled it apart three times. Must have a block about knitting it for her, cos the first one for my granddaughter turned out fine.
    Hugs Sandi xx

  9. sandiart says:

    PS, if I had that view I would sit and contemplate and crochet to my hearts content :)

  10. kate says:

    Gorgeous view and very funky cushion…I especially love the shot out on the weathered timber seat. That pink crystal in the view shot is freaking huge!! It must be sending out good vibes to the whole city!

  11. Robyn says:

    Hello – those colours are gorgeous! The pillow should be in the sun outside whenever possible ! It is lovely.

    And ravelry is fabulous – it is where I am wasting omost of my time at the moment and I am unsure if it is a dangerous expensive habit in the making!

  12. Pearlin J says:

    Love your sit out view! It seems like such a cozy place to sit and crochet. the cushion is just gorgeous! So cheery.

  13. Robyn says:

    Thanks so much for your comment – stunning is one word. Curling up is another…

    The vest is toooo easy – this was the first thing I tried that wasn’t a square or a scarf or french or finger knitting and you can find for free on Ravelry – lookup PEBBLE VEST… Lots of great examples there. I learned how to ‘Kitchener Stitch’ for this pattern and feel like i could take on the world and seam it together if it requires a patch…

  14. Jacqui says:

    Your views are amazing, looks like the perfect place to sit and hook.
    I ♥ the cushion so much ~ just gorgeous!

  15. carol says:

    Wow what a beautiful spot to live and craft I would never get anything else done! great love of colour your cushion is fab and loving the rose quartz

  16. Gea says:

    I so want to sit in that chair, what fantastic views
    here its raining :(

    i love your cushion!!!!

  17. Ilona Harris says:

    Ok, I’m just gonna say it ….. I WANT YOUR CUSHION! GOD-DAMMIT, it’s FABULOUS!!!!
    It makes my heart laugh out loud! I feel it thump my chest doing so when I catch a glimpse of this beauty! G.. A.. S.. P !

    Alice. Loving reading your blogs girl!

  18. Cinthia says:

    Hello !!! I loved your crochets !!!!! I live in Brazil, my city call Curitiba and I hope to tearn a lot about crochet with you! Thank you !!!!!

  19. Nicky says:

    Hello…I have just discovered your blog and I love reading about your adventures! Everyone should have a creative corner, and yours is just lovely. How peaceful. Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

