A chair and a square

Hello!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  And a happy sunday to all of you! 

I hope you’re having a relaxing day!  As I’ve mentioned before, Sunday is my most productive day in the week, so although it is 9.40am I have already dropped KB off at work, gone to the vege market, gone on a 50 minute walk in the mist (lovely!) cooked a huge batch of tomato and chickpea pasta sauce, taken some photograph of my chair (!) and had breakfast!  Phew!  Time for a well-deserved break to post pictures of my exciting FO.

Did I mention I’ve already eaten chocolate despite the early hour?  I thought I would sneak a little piece of delicious macadamia chocolate onto the tail end of my breakfast… big mistake… I think today will be an exercise in restraint now!  (Especially as one little piece has so far turned into two little pieces.  OK, I’m lying to you… three).

So, without further rambling, I am going to FINALLY introduce you to my NEW CHAIR!!!!!!!!!!!

I had grand plans of doing an outdoors photo shoot today, but it’s misty and rainy, so I’m not going to risk walking down slippery stairs carrying a chair I don’t want to get wet!!! 

So a little history on this special chair…

when KB and I moved back to Wellington about two years ago, before we found a house and were living with my parents, KB, Mum and I went on a jaunt to “Trash Palace.”  Remember my table?  KB bought that for me at our local dump shop, and I had forgotten to tell you about trash palace… it’s another dump shop but not so local.  It’s a wonderland of all things trashy, pure upcycling goodness and soooooooooooo cheap.  I found this chair…

And I liked the shape and the purpleness of it so much, I bought it for the reasonable price of $8.  I had planned to paint it, but must admit, I have only just got around to it!  So a couple of days ago, I did it. 

Firstly, I took the seat off, and pulled off the ugly fabric that was stapled onto it… and found…

Brown vinyl!  EEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

It had occurred to me that my chair had already been upcycled, but now I had the proof.  Does that mean it’s a tri-cycled chair now?

I also found this…

Duncan’s of Hastings, Made in NZ… it even has a job number on it.  Lovely!  In a world where most things are mass-produced and made in China, it’s so nice to find something lovely and old and made in NZ!  It’s well made too, despite being a wee bit rickety, it’s still solid as, and I’m glad the painting is over, because it is my study chair and for the last few days I’ve been using my little wonky stool…  not so comfy!

So the job is done, and it looks amazing with the cushion I made especially for it!

It’s in the corner of the lounge, bringing a lovely green vibe into the room.  And I just love it.  Oh, and see those flowers on the table?  Well… I was sitting at the table the other day and all of a sudden I got a whiff of the most beautiful flower smell!  It was heavenly!  I didn’t know these wee flowers had such a lovely perfume… but do you know what it interesting?  I can smell the purple and yellow flowers, but I can’t smell the pink ones.  KB can only smell the pink ones… that’s a discovery!  I suppose like everything in the universe, smell has a vibration too!

So, that’s the “chair” part of my post done!  Now onto the square!  Am I the last person the discover Julia Crossland’s lovely blog?  Make sure you pop over and visit her!  I had a go at her latest pattern, the popcorn flower granny square…

Whoops, that was meant to have 8 petals, not 7… I worked out a way to make it into a granny though… then had another try…

Much better!  I’ve made them a big bigger than Julia’s pattern because I’m sending them off to the delightful Mrs Twins for one of her SIBOL’s… I’m thinking they’ll go well in a flower blanket or maybe the children’s blanket if I haven’t missed the deadline!

OK lovely people!  I’m off to do some more cooking and some yoga before sitting down (in my new chair) to work on a big assignment due at the end of August!!!

Although, let’s face it… I’ll be back in my rocker before long, hooking up my next, much needed project!

I’ll leave you with a picture of some beautiful, beautiful potted gerberas my lovely friend gave me, which are thriving on my kitchen windowsill… they’re so vibrant the camera could barely take it!

Lots and lots and lots of love to all of you, from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A chair and a square

  1. PosyLinda says:

    Well done Alice. The chair in green with your cushion is perfect. Mrs Twins will get a kick out of receiving the Julia squares. Best to R and KB!

  2. renee says:

    Wow you’ve had a busy sunday morning! The chair is fantastic and your cushion looks perfect!

  3. sandiart says:

    I need some of your energy or enthusiasm to get out of bed that early, I aways feel so much better once I am up and you get so much more done in a day. Winter keeps me in bed longer (my excuse) I love what you have done to your chair and the cushion is perfect, I am slowly changing my view on green. Loving the happy color of your flowers too.
    Blog troubles…think I will just have to pop the photos in the middle and then I can write underneath…why cannot things be easier, arh like how to read crochet patterns lol.
    Hugs Sandi xx

  4. KooKoo says:

    i love your chair, you really did a good job with it :)

  5. that is a great chair….your home should be looking wonderful with all the colour that is flowing through it.

  6. lovestitches says:

    SHHHHHHH, don’t tell people about it! To my boyfriend and I Trash Palace is one of those fabulous things we keep a secret. I have found some truly amazing things there and I don’t like giving away my secret bargain place!

  7. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice, ok now to warn you, this may well be a l-o-n-g post, but I will try to be good and keep it simple. lol. ok #1. choccie at brekkie, well of course, they both end in ‘ie’ it’s only natural they be together. (and lunch and dinner and super and . . . . . . . .) lol, you have great taste for sure. #2, wow, love your *new* chair, beautiful colour and awesome cushion. #3, granny squares, oh Mrs Twins is going to love your new squares. Oh and no, I must be the last person to know of Julia Crosslands Lovely Blog, but not for long, am about to check it out. Thanks so much for the lead up. #4 study, poop, yes, will have to get stuck in this week myself. #5 gerberas oh just stunning, I have gerberas in my front garden still flowering madly away, although not with this vibrant a colour. They started out this bright, but now have seemed to aged in delicate salmons, creams, and pinks which is still very pretty for winter and I still love them all just as much. #6 mainly because I am an even numbers kinda girl, thanks for sharing your lovely weekend with us. Bless. xx

  8. Fantastic job with the chair Alice and I love that cushion!

  9. Clara says:

    Love, love, love the green chair and the cushion finishes it off perfectly.

  10. Mrs Twins says:

    Good evening Alice!
    Wow! What a transformation.
    Don’t you just love it when you can turn things around
    ?
    I love the cushion you made its perfect for the chair. I thought it was Hastings in the UK at first! Love the Grannys too,
    simply beautiful post as usual!
    Love to you Suex

  11. Hi Alice
    The chusion and char combination looks superb. I am in heaven when I find a bargain bit of furniture / fabric / yearn to recycle into something else. I also thoughtit was Hastings in the UK ! I live a 1/2 hour cycle ride from Hastings …

    My bunting is finished ta dah! See what you think. I have also recently re-disciverd Julia’s blog and copied down the pattern for popcorn flowers, such fun. I think I need to crochet something for SIBOL too xox
    ps. I am a Dietitian and a little choccy is not going to upset your beautiful balance !

  12. sorry VERY bad spelling again ! It’s tough being mum and a blogger with just 2 hands! xox

  13. anka says:

    The chiar and the granny square cushion look so great together. And thanks for sharing Julia’s blog, really nice discovery! As is your blog, too!

  14. Leah says:

    The chair and cushion are just stunning. No your not the last person, I must be…lol

  15. Julia says:

    Oooooooooooooooh! My goodness, I am jumping up and down in delight at your gorgeous squares – for two reasons, one that you have made them so lovely and bright and the other is that the pattern obviously worked!
    Thank you so much for sharing, and Im loving your chair too, its wonderful!

    Much love
    Julia x x x

Leave a Reply

