Treasures from the Tip!

Hellooooooooooooooooooo!  I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend!  I’m up early this saturday morning, and off to the Upper Hutt spin-in with my Mum.  She was telling me of all the woolly joy that goes on at these events, so I’ll be sure to take my camera and share the fun with all of you!

So I make reference to my rocker and my creative corner a lot in my posts, and this post is no different!  Next to my rocker I have had a wonky little stool for the last year or so, to hold my coffee cups, muffins, hooks, needles… all the paraphernalia I need to hook away!  It has been frustrating me a lot lately, because it’s wonky, needles roll off it, I often elbow my coffee cup onto the floor, and it’s just been an all-round pain! 

So I was VERY pleased when KB bought this home from a jaunt to the recycle shop at our local dump one day when I was in class…..

Not too bad for $8!  So with a little help from a good friend….

I gave my new table a lick of paint!

And learned a very important lesson!  Always, always open the test pots in the shop and look at the colour of the paint, don’t go by the colour charts!  Wow that’s blue!  And while I’m in a blue space at the moment, it doesn’t quite match my lounge.  I didn’t want to walk into my lounge every day and go “WOW, do you see that blue table!”  So back to the paint shop I went!

And found a colour much more matched to my temperament!  Sea green in fact!  It’s much more of a match….

And the piece de resistance….

the entire reason I decided to crack a granny mandala pattern….

Just as I envisioned…  it’s just perfect for next to my rocker, and do you know how luxurious it is to have so much table space!

Although….. I’m admitting to you, I’m so scared of spilling coffee on my mandala, I’ve got my little wonky stool parked up next to the table to hold my coffee cup…

Not for long though!

Have a lovely lovely day and thank you so much for dropping in!  Please leave me a comment so I can come and visit you too!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XX

P.S By the way!  Can anyone help me out with a link or two to some awesome granny square patterns?!  I’m wanting to make a cushion and am looking for something different to the traditional granny…. google is a little TOO helpful, so if anyone has any tips!  Fire away!  Thanks!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Treasures from the Tip!

  1. Hi Alice

    Wow, that’s a colour splurge for my friday night here in the UK! it looks fab, especially with your mandala xox have a great weekend.
    ps. the thumbs for my Alice’s mittens were super easy , just 3 rows of dc …..x

  2. Casey says:

    love that little table! the granny mandala is perfect :)

    As for granny squares, I really like Lucy’s summer garden square, here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/summer-garden-granny-square
    and I also like the Sunny Spread squares, here:

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sunny-spread

  3. Mrs Twins says:

    Your full of lovely ideas Alice!
    Great one, I love it.
    Love the colours, so bright and fresh looking.
    have a good weekend.
    Love Suex

  4. Cat G says:

    Hi Alike! Love the table, it looks fab – but as to opening testpots, no. The wet colour is often misleading – but don’t just go by the chart. Check out the drawdown it’s A4 and all the stores have them. Grab the drawdown of the colour you are considering and take it into natural light to get an idea of the real colour, then buy your testpot accordingly. Wet colour, especially off a darker base than white, like your colour, is deceptive and often can lead to similar disappointments – trust me, I worked at Resene for 4 years! Go the drawdowns, every time! And btw I love the incredible colour match with the mandala!!! I think that’s what I need in my art room, more vivid colour.

  5. Louise says:

    Fab table! Love the colour and how amazing it looks with your mandala! I wish we had a ‘tip shop’! Although I think they’d call it a ‘dump shop’ over here – doesn’t sound the least bit exciting calling it that. I have lost in to tempation and started my first mandala, thanks to your amazing pattern, although it will have a bit of a twist, if my plan works out.
    Have a lovely weekend!

    • Fab! I can’t wait to see your mandala and the twist! Make it quickly!
      Just so you don’t get envious… our tip shop smells like a toilet, it’s not some wonderland of great bargains! Oh no… smelly and pretty yuck all round, it’s just my beloved partner likes going there for a look-see!

  6. peasandbob says:

    Your table is freaking awesome!!! LOVE IT!! just looove it!!

  7. Amanda says:

    Awww… I hope Raymond manage to keep his paws dry and paint-free :)

    The table is lovely, and the mandala fits it perfectly: I am just a teeny, weeny bit jealous ;)

  8. Alice that table is perfect for your lovely Mandala!! If you are like me the coffee cup should be one of those travel ones with a lid :-0

  9. frances says:

    oh Alice, I so love your new table and mandala. I have been wanting to make a circle throw for my round chair, lol, it’s on the list and I did actually start one, however, need more practise on my circles. I have seen a hexagon granny rug, they are lovely too, but I am thinking maybe next winter for me.

  10. Really lovely table! And $8? What a find!
    Having just walked through ikea yesterday, I have to say that I love so much how people can find unique pieces for their homes that they put their own touch on. Absolutely beautiful colour choice!

  11. Bianca says:

    Loving the table!!! arn’t tip shops the best! perhaps you could have a peice of glass cut to sit on top and protect your mandala.

    xB

  12. The table looks gorgeous!!!

  13. KooKoo says:

    wow, that’s beautiful! good job!

  14. Pingback: A chair and a square | Crochet with Raymond

Leave a Reply

