Touchyarn troubles and a gift for one of you!

This is the wool that is left from finishing my touchyarn hat!  I’ve been going on and on about this touchyarn since the beginning of my blog… for those of you who do not know about this notorious ball of wool, my Mum bought it from me from the Touchyarn factory on Alexandria when she was biking in the South Island.  It’s BEAUTIFUL hand painted wool and I haven’t been able to make up my mind what to do with it.

I knitted it into a scarf a couple of weeks ago… it took ages and finally I admitted defeat… it just plain, wasn’t long enough.   I was surprised, I thought 100gms of wool would make a decent length scarf!  But it barely tied around my neck.  So I frogged it, then, as you know, began knitting a hat for me….

It turned out beautifully, but didn’t even fit on my head properly!  I had knitted it far too small to encompass my voluptuous brains and abundant hair

I do believe it was the pressure of making something out of such a special ball of wool…

Never mind, it fits KB perfectly… and I think she loved it more than me anyway.

So I thought I’d see how many flower badges I could make from that leftover ball.

I love gorgeous coloured wool to crochet flowers with…. And managed 5 altogether… only just, I had about 10cms of wool left.

I’m definitely keeping one…

And I thought I’d share one with one of my lovely blog friends…. So leave me a comment saying whether you prefer the pointy petals or the round petals!

And I’ll draw it on sunday 21st July… with Raymond’s assistance of course!

I know you can probably all make one for yourselves… but it’s always nice to enjoy someone else’s work once in a while!

I was mucking around in the evening sun today…

And almost managed to capture the beauty of this crystal friend…. who is breathtakingly beautiful in the stone….

Oh, and remember my friend whose wedding things I blogged about?  Welllllllllllllllllll, she has her own blog now, and it’s colourful and lovely, it’s going to be a great one to follow from the beginning, so pop over to Peas and Bob but don’t forget to leave a comment first!

Have a lovely day from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Touchyarn troubles and a gift for one of you!

  1. Aisyah Helga says:

    Ooooh..what lovely flowers ! I’d love to have the pointy petal flower. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Bianca says:

    I love the pointy flowers! Is it your own pattern? How hard is it to photograph a crystal and capture the beauty properly? You did a great job.
    xB

  3. Amanda says:

    Ooooh the wool is just gorgeous… I always find choosing yarn so difficult (I went into a shop yesterday looking for ‘autumn coloured yarn’ for crocheting hearts for table decorations for our wedding and ended up coming home with something I now want to use to crochet autumn leaves with!!)

    I love all of your flowers, but I think the pointy ones have that little extra edge to them :)

    And that crystal… oh how I love them so… I think the only photo we’ve ever taken that was anywhere near as good as the real thing was when we climbed to the top of an ancient burial mound and the sun was shining and Tim held a quartz point up to catch the light… they are just so beautiful when the light catches them, aren’t they?

    Right, comment left, now I am off to visit your friend’s new blog, thanks for the link x

  4. Woo-Hoo I love a give away :-) I think I prefer the pointy ones as well! What a bummer about your hat :-( I have just been fluking it with my crochet ones…..they seem to be the perfect shape for all my brains and hair!!

    Love the crystal!

  5. frances says:

    oh Alice, I have missed you and Raymond so. It’s so good to be back, just like greeting an old friend. (Not old as in age, but old as in, long time – lol, I am a bit cheeky tonight) Goodness as for choosing *sigh* you do make it tough for a Libran, you certainly do. Well I am going to leave it to you and Raymond to choose, if, that is, ‘Joyce’ is pulled from the hat. Both styles are so beautiful and I would be blessed to be so lucky to win. I am off to check your friends blog now and catch up on older posts of yours that I have missed over the last few days. Bless.

  6. Debi Y. says:

    Hi Alice – the hat looks pretty with all the colors. I like both flowers – it’s hard to choose but I’ll go with the rounded petal ones. Thanks for offering.

  7. Casey says:

    I like all of them but if I win, I would love the round petals!

  8. Mrs Twins says:

    Hello Alice,
    Its so nice to pop over and see what you have been up to.
    I really, really love the yarn. What gorgeous colours!
    Myself I prefer the pointy petals, but I love the others too.
    Nice variety, have a mixture!
    Joyce is going to mention you on SIBOL I think. She wanted to check with me first!
    Have a good day!
    hugs Suex
    Such a wacky way to catch up with your blog through email!
    x

  9. Maria says:

    Love all the flowers. I even ‘had’ a yarn experience like yours, and in similiar colours ☺
    First a scarf, then a vest and now it has found its home as a poncho, which I LOVE!!!!

  10. Patz says:

    You are a very generous person, Alice.
    I am sorry I won’t be able to meet you in a couple of weeks; I will be on the other side of the world by then… We’ll have to find another excuse ;-)
    I tend to love everything you make since it’s made with such passion and enthusiasm! :-D
    I usually don’t win things, but should Raymond find my name, I’d be lucky with any of your pretty flower :-)
    XOX

  11. kate says:

    These are so pretty-but please I am just here commenting, don’t enter me, I have already been blessed abundently and someone else shall have one.
    I love the colours and the beanie looks gorgeous…I am sure KB must love it and be feeling very cared for and cozy.

  12. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice

    I am loving the pointy ones and am just flower mad / happy as you. Soon I will share a fabbook I found in my LYS xox lots of love and crochet bliss

  13. Helena says:

    Hi Alice,

    I am loving me some pointy petals! You are so very sweet to share these lovely flowers, and the yarn is scrumptious. What a wonderful and thoughtful Mom you have. :-)

    **Helena

  14. Aren’t they lovely! I’ve just had a thought, wouldn’t raymond look puuurrrfect sporting one of these on his collar? Love Vanessa xxx

  15. sandiart says:

    I am too late for this, but wanted to comment anyway, the flowers are so cute, I love the round edged ones. What a pity the hat didn’t fit, but as you say, such magnificent brains and hair that you have.
    I love your crystal, I have lots but not like that, it must look amazing when the sun shines on it, all the beautiful crystal lights playing around and I see your plants are surviving….good work.
    Shall pop over to Peas and Bob for a look see.
    Take care, Sandi

  16. Jordy P says:

    The pointy flower reminds me of a pointsettia, so I like that one!

  17. French Knots says:

    Isn’t that lucky to have used up nearly every inch of that lovely yarn! The flowers are wonderful and show off the yarn so well. I like the pointy petals best, but the rounded are sweet too. I’ve never tried making flowers but they would make lovely presents.x

Leave a Reply

