My Creative Space

Hello!!!  Thank you for visiting!  I love checking my stats and seeing that people have popped in, it’s such a buzz that someone other than me wants to know whats going on in my mind and my creative corner!  I hope you’re having a great day….

Today’s post is not what I see as being particularly inspiring aesthetically… in fact I’m bored by the photos myself, I like lots of bright coloured pictures of gorgeous crochet, and this post doesn’t have that, however, it IS inspiring in a different way.

But first, let me tell you something that will make you sad…  Poor Raymond has a cold.  He’s just not coping with winter and has had this cough which has been driving me up the wall for a few days… we gave him some olive oil (he drinks it!  Loves it!) which has improved the situation to no end, but he’s snuffly today and I can hear him trying to breathe through his nostrils and it sounds tough!

Of course… he’s acting VERY pathetic… see below…

That’s him curled up on the floor looking at me… I wrapped him lovingly in a blanket but he jumped off the chair and wanted to get on my lap.  I’m currently balancing coffee, toast and my laptop in my lap, so that’s a big no for Raymond.  So instead of getting onto his special bed down beside the chair, he’s curled up on the blanket giving me a look that says “why aren’t you wrapping me in this?”  He will have to wait 5 minutes until I’ve finished this post.

So inspiration…. I discovered a lady named Mrs Twins and one of her blogs Sunshine International Blankets of Love which is dedicated to making blankets for charity.  What a totally cool thing she is doing!  I love finding people who go out of their way to do something amazing!  So of course I want to be a part of it…

I have a bag in my stash, it’s full of ends of balls, old acrylic I find at the op-shop, old frogged scarves from ancient abandoned projects…. I don’t get rid of it because i know it’ll come in handy for something…. something like this!

So I’ve hooked up a few squares… Mrs Twins has themes for her blankets sometimes, so I’ve created one for her strawberries and cream blanket, two for her gentleman’s blanket and one for her seaside blanket.  I hope Mrs Twins doesn’t mind that my squares are measuring up at 14.5cm not 15cm…..

Not quite a ta-daaaa moment!  But inspiring in that someone’s trash really does become someone else’s treasure.  That old acrylic I found at the op shop was treasure to me because it was cheap, it become’s treasure for Mrs Twins because she has squares for her blankets, and wow, treasure for the person who receives it… the gift just keeps on giving.

I’m off now, must get to the post office to send these off to England!  Make sure you check her out and maybe hook a few for her blankets too!

See you soon with some colourful goodness!!!  ;)

Love from Alice and Raymond XX

Just a quick edit… Mrs Twins popped in and was happy to see her project on my blog… she’s so sweet!  I feel like I banged on about Raymond being pathetic more than the wonderfullness of Mrs Twins, and the great praise she deserves now that I’m re-reading my post!  In fact… she was so sweet I want to go and hook up a few more squares for her…

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Creative Space

  1. Mrs Twins says:

    Hello Alice,
    This is really cool, being able to write straight back like this after seeing your post!
    through email.
    I have to say first of all thanks so much for the very kind words. What a surprise to read about my project on your blog. I’m amazed. Youre very sweet and I appreciate the words very much.
    Those words……someone elses trash really does become someone elses treasure! yes i know what you mean indeed.
    It actually happened to me today at another time. My neighbour asked me if I wanted a bag of odd bits of wool. She was amazed I got so….excited about odd little balls of wool! They had belonged to her Mother In law and on sorting her things out after sadly she had passed away she found a bag with wool in. There even were some little crocheted squares which her mother in law had attempted to crochet. Some of them were three quarters made. My intention is to put them to good use! I shall finsh the squares and put them into my blankets. They are certainly ‘someone elses treasures!’.
    Your squares are gorgeous, really pretty. i shall be looking out for them. Dont worry if they are not exactly 15cms x 15cms. I have had smaller be assured!
    Nice to chat with you Alice, I’ll be back….
    Love Suex

  2. Thats a lovely idea Alice, I have a friend who has a contact for the still born and premie babies. They need little afghans so the parents have a tangible memory to keep with them after the loss. Its a lovely idea that the baby blankets are like a little hug.

    Poor Raymond, he needs sooking!!

  3. Amanda says:

    First of all – poor Raymond :o( I shall send him some Reiki later, poor darling! I hope he is now curled up in your lap…

    Secondly, thank you so much for popping by the my blog and leaving a comment. We do indeed seem to have a lot in common and I look forward to getting to know you even better!

    And last, but not least, thanks for introducing us to Mrs Twins… I shall have to see what I can come up with to send her, such a wonderful project.

  4. frances says:

    oh Alice, how awesome of you. You put a shiver down my spine to be quite honest with you. You have a heart of gold girl. Thank you for showing me Mrs. Twins site, I have been for a visit and will be going back. I am also going to add her to my blog and spread the word.

    Hi Raymond, you poor darling, not the sniffles, it’s been awfully cold out. Bless you little one and keep well. My little friend, Snuggles, hasn’t been around alot lately either, however, it’s been a bit rainy here lately too, which Snuggles doesn’t particularly like.

  5. Helena says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a lovely comment. I am enjoying your blog so very much, and I love, love, LOVE Raymond! I hope the poor dear feels better soon. Also, your work is very lovely!

  6. What a great cause – making blankets for charity! Thanks for the link to Mrs. Twins’ site!
    Also, give Raymond a big hug for me. When my cats get sick (and they always get sick together…) they just seem super pathetic and I feel so sorry for them!
    Emily

  7. Oh Miss Prudence is envious of Raymond: I wish someone would feed me olive drinks – Miss Prudence is feeling just awful with a sneezy cold…

Leave a Reply

