My Creative Space

Hello everyone!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful day and finding lots of new inspiring new blog friends at kootoyoo!  I really really like thursdays there, it’s great to find so many new blogs in one space.

Joyce!  I DID IT!  Did you notice? I am now a linking expert.  Watch out everyone, I’m going to be linking all over the place!

In my last post I mentioned that my creativity was waning… well it really was.  I didn’t know what to do with myself.  So I had a surf around some other blogs and then went to good old ravelry.  Ravelry is amazing isn’t it?  Tell me you’re a member!  Well I remember on the blog minimonty a while ago, Leah had made a stunning, (and I mean I really was stunned by its beauty) Queen Anne’s lace scarf.  She said she had got the pattern free from Ravelry, so I hunted it down and here is the link He has no photos on his blog and hasn’t updated it in ages… but here are my photos you can refer to if you like.

 

 I found this lovely cherry red at my LYS when I went shopping immediately after I found the pattern and had a go with grey wool!  Such is the life of a student on holidays!  (Please holidays!  Don’t ever end!)  Here’s a close up on the lace loveliness…

It looks so complex and difficult doesn’t it?!  Well, it’s not… the whole thing took about 4 or 5 hours and once you’ve done a few motifs, you’re away.  It’s nothing more than multiple series of ch, sc & dc.  Have a try!

I used 2x50gm balls of wool and a 5.5mm hook, so the drape is lovely… I had a practice with some “woolly” wool (also 8ply) and it didn’t look as nice… the cherry red I used had been tampered with so it didn’t have that wooliness… do you know what I mean? 

Well I’m inspired to make at least one more of these, and maybe a couple more for presents!  You will notice if you follow my blog, that I get completely fascinated by a project and make many of one thing, then move onto the next… it’s probably because I know I’ll never go back to an old project!  There are so many new crochet frontiers to explore!

OK, enough babbling from me today!  I need to go to back to kootoyoo and have a look at some other creative spaces!  But before I do… heres a shameless shot of me modelling the scarf on creative thursday, looking pretty pleased with myself, just before going to work!

Have a lovely day from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Creative Space

  1. Louise says:

    Wow! That scarf is fabulous!!! The red colour yarn is amazing. I’m off to check out the pattern on ravelry and see if I can wip one up myself.

  2. frances says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond, Raymond, I bet you are hiding under the blankets again today to keep snuggled and warm. Brrrrrr! Alice oh ravelry, yes, I joined last night, I have no idea how to work my way around it yet, but hopefully will get time tonight to sit and feast on all the wonderfullness of it all. Your new scarf, I want to make one too. lol, oh my goodness, stop showing me all this crochetty goodness. lol, it’s just so pretty. Yes, I did notice you were able to do the linky thing too woo hoo. I am not very good at explaining the ‘how’ bit tho, sorry about that. Have a wonderful day with your new scarf, you are going to get heaps of compliments, I just know it. I was going to make scarves for my childrens teachers for end of year gifts, and I think this pattern is the perfect one.

  3. Patz says:

    I like it I like it I like it!! Oh and that red; yum! :-) And I agree with Frances: stop showing so many goodies!! Can’t find enough time ^^ (also love the idea for the teachers; may I do that too?)

  4. Jodie W says:

    Oh, I love it! I want to make one now too. That’s the problem with this creative space business – I get inspired to make much more than I have time for, haha!

  5. beck says:

    Oh you clever little linker! I like your fancy scarf, it looks very fetching on you! Well done superstar xo

  6. Just wrote you a lovely chatty comment and blogger ate it up! Grrrr….so now I will just say ‘You and the scarf are gorgeous’ !!! :-)

  7. Steph says:

    I literally started crocheting yesterday and have made my daughters dolly a beanie… Acidently of course as I am not really sure what I am doing… That scarf is something to aim for it is stunning and looks like sea coral… Great colour too!!

    Xo Steph

  8. French Knots says:

    The scarf is brilliant, the lovely red sets off the lacy pattern perfectly.

  9. Kate says:

    Ooohhh, I love that scarf! It looks gorgeous on you. Great colour.
    Have you finished the wrap?
    happy Thursday.

  10. alyshajane says:

    Oooh, your scarf is totally faboo! The colour is gorgeous and really suits you.

  11. leah says:

    Well done. It looks stunning on you I love the colour too.

  12. Heather says:

    Scary!!! I just downloaded this scarf from Ravelry too, and yes it’s an amazing place to find out all sorts of things about crochet (and get inspiration)

Leave a Reply

