Crochet coat hanger covers

Hello everyone!

Thank you for stopping by today!  I’m really excited about the new creative buzz I’m on… now the bootie saga has ended!!!  I was first inspired by this idea when I saw on Attic24 a book Lucy had bought, in it were some pictures of some gorgeous crochet coat hanger covers… To die for in fact… I wanted to make one then and there!  Alas I had no coat hangers that would suit being covered, I’ve been hunting for them everywhere since, but do you know what?

I found some FINALLY.  Where?

The Warehouse.  Evil Warehouse… although I heard them on the tannoy today saying they won a greenpeace award for sustainable wood last year, so they deserve a bit of kudos.  Anyway, they were only $3.99!  For 3!  Fabulous!

So what to do with some averagely boring wooden coat hangers???

 Why, make them beautiful of course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s my first one… It’s not particularly innovative or original… and there are many mistakes… but wait, there’s more!

 

I’m loving them because I can decorate them with flowers… I wouldn’t WEAR flowers… but these, these are made for floral decoration.

They’re pretty easy… I did my cover with a 5mm hook and 8ply wool, ch 70 and 5 rows of treble, then sc together with a 3.25mm hook, then embellish!

I have so many more ideas in my head for these, and 7 more coat hangers awaiting decoration on my table, so stay tuned!!!

And if you try one, let me know so I can admire your handiwork!

I’m very much enjoying Kirsty’s creative space at kootoyoo (check my fave blog lists, I still am not able to do that “here” thing!!!) I’m finding so many awesome blogs and inspiring people.

Have a lovely creative day!  From Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Crochet coat hanger covers

  1. megan says:

    I was just reading a book last night, ‘Homemade’, that had a tutorial for crochet coat hangers so now I know where to get some wooden ones thanks! and that attic24 blog is gorgeous!

  2. Now those are fantastic!! I may have to go hunting for some of those coat hangers myself! I loved the elf bootie pattern but I am hopeless at the seams therefore I usually knit in the round or crochet ;-) Raymondo will turn into a green eyed monster if you keep drooling over those puppies LOL

  3. Louise says:

    L O V E your crocheted hangers. I remember my Mum having some when I was a kid. Now I must go and find some wooden hangers :-)

  4. Patz says:

    I like it I like it I like it!!!!!! :-D Me too me too, want!! I saw these gorgeous creations at Lucy’s and was very envious!! You are a clever girl, and they look really cute! I am nowhere near it, but working hard on the stitch front ;-). I have even joined the club of crochet bloggers (not that I have anything interesting to show yet, but I had to get it out of my system…). I had actually written this comment yesterday, but for some reason it didn’t show; maybe I am already losing my mind, thinking I write stuff but just imagining it?!? Anyway, my crochet still makes me very happy; finishing a cushion cover, and then I shall try and learn to change colours so I can make Lucy’s buntings… Still can’t stop!!! Catch up soon XOX

  5. beck says:

    Ooh! I love that first hanger, how pretty! Attic 24 is so inspiring, and so are you! I now have ANOTHER thing I want to make! xo

  6. kamal says:

    i love this. I never thought that i can make hanger with this. Your imagination is is really creative.

  7. Siobhan says:

    I’m wondering if the book you saw with the crochet hangers was a Japanese one? I’ve seen pictures of hangers in one of them and yours remind me of them. I spent hours looking on etsy yesterday favouriting all the Japanese craft books I like. The thing is though, I’m not sure I could get past not being able to read the instructions? They have diagrams but I’m very hit and miss with those – never know the starting point! So I didn’t buy one. I might, just to look at pretty pictures though. It looks like you don’t need patterns anyway and have created your own magic out of thin air! Wish I could do that.

  8. Hello
    I am living in Iran-Tehran
    you proved tobe agood kniter.

  9. Elizabeth Gower says:

    Warehouse? Which Warehouse and where? I am trying to locate very basic wood hangers in the US – I used to buy them from Spotlight in Australia but now it’s getting expensive to include in luggage and certainly too expensive to mail them here. Please reply and set my little crafting heart at ease. Thanks,
    Elizabeth Gower
    ehgower@att.net

  10. Barbara says:

    I just found your blog and am in love! Finally I have found a funky crochet blog! Love the hangers and the tea cosies! You’ve inspired me to started hooking again ;)

  11. Sarah says:

    HI ALICE,
    COOL BLOG
    HAVE A GOOD WEEKEND.

    LOVE SARAH

  12. rhonda m says:

    just love the hangers , in oz we use covered padded hangers (satin) they are cheap and you make your pretty covers and slip over the already padded hangers.. saves time..we find these hangers in our “cheap $2 shops”… maybe this will help your followers. cheers to all ..rhonda

  13. Shyrl Nelson says:

    I make crotchet hangars with a K afghan hook and heavier yarn….use to use rug yarn but now I try to find prettier yarn. I learned this from my great aunt…..don’t know how to crotchet otherwise. I’ve found wooden hangars in the Ben Franklin Store in Branson, Missouri but that’s not close to where I live so when I find some, I buy a supply. Shyrl

Leave a Reply

