Bad-Ass crochet!

I really enjoy knitting and doing my crochet in public places… it makes a nice change from my rocking chair.  On the bus, at a cafe, on my lunchbreak in the cafeteria at polytech… a change of scenery really is as good as a holiday when it comes to yarnplay… but often my friends and acquaintances can think its a bit strange.  Knitting they could tolerate, but crochet is just a little too… too nana really.  So it was a surprise for some of my classmates the other day when I showed up to polytech in these beautiful creations:I love these mitts shamelessly. 

The pattern for the skull I found here: http://crochetyourselfhappy.blogspot.com/2009/09/day-of-dead-crochet-skull-pattern.html It was relatively easy to make and I’m actually really excited by the fact that I CAN make it because I have a real problem following instructions.  Recipes, music, knitting patterns… I just can’t follow, but for some reason I can do crochet patterns!  The sense of accomplishment is huge!

So all of a sudden, in my classmates eyes, crochet graduated from not-so-cool to kinda-bad-ass. 

My beloved bought us a present the other day.  We have given up coffee but we quite like decaf, and we like the plunger version, so here is what she bought us:

Did you know how utterly ridiculously expensive coffee plungers are?  I was truly shocked.  This one was $35 from the Warehouse.  Still pretty steep.

So to celebrate this wonderful gift, which allows us to enjoy a coffee together instead of my-go-then-your-go in our baby plunger, I celebrated by creating this:I’m particularly enamoured with the bobble-edging around the place-mat and the cozy… I love bobble-edging and do as much as I can get away with.  And I love this.  It was an exciting creation which only took about 4 hours to complete.  Huge thanks to crochet yourself happy who posted her pattern for free, she’s a legend!

Bad-Ass!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bad-Ass crochet!

  1. Louise says:

    Love the wrist warmers with the skulls! Definitely very cool. My three boys would love them. The granny’s in your header are fabulous too! Love the grey with the bright colours.
    Have a nice day,
    Louise
    PS – Hello :-) – Found you via Attic24

    • Thank you Louise!!! I’m so excited that you are the first person ever to leave a comment on my brand new blog! Its nice to meet you and I checked out your blog too… it’s just lovely and I’m totally digging “meeting” such cool crafty people! Go hard with the skull mitts for your boys!!!

  2. Victoria says:

    Fabulous! Love those skull motifs on both the wristwarmers and the cafetiere cosy!

    I share your hatred of blocking – tedious, but so worth it. Take my advice – sew in ends and block as you go along…otherwise, if you’re anything like me, it’ll never get done. Or block once all the squares are joined if you have a space big enough…

    Looking forward to seeing that blanket grow and what you come up with next
    Victoria

  3. Patz says:

    Howdy there!
    Meeting through blog though we are family… Haha; the 21st Century is a funny place… I am completely hooked (no pun intended :-D) and have spend the whole week end getting my head around stitches as well as checking out other blogs, Utube, etc… You name it! Poor husband and children have only seen me above my crochet for the past 2 days… Only made 2 squares ^^ so far, the first one a totally pathetic attempt, the 2d one only slightly better. Now I’ll make those groovy handwarmers, skull for son, roses for daughters… You’ve inspired me :-D… As for the cover project, I’ll keep you posted!!!!!!!!!

  4. Andrea says:

    Yum, welcome to the world of French Pressed coffee (even though this was some time ago!). I love using the French press because you get a lot more flavor out of your coffee. They are a little pricey, though. I bought mine several years ago when I was working at a coffee shop and I LOVE it.

  5. Jay says:

    I followed your link to a blog that linked the pattern as free, but it is now being charged $2.95 for this skull. Could you share this pattern since many got it for free and my timing appears unlucky!

    I love these skulls and your creativity using them…. Trying to follow suit… Help! Thnx.

  6. Yesenia Beltran says:

    Will you make them for resale ?

  7. Victoria G says:

    They are beautefull! I think I’ll copy you. ;)

  8. Hazel says:

    u seem 2 b an absolute sweetie. I am an oldie but luv your work. keep up the awesome work and hug the kitty 4 me.

  9. Ruby1234 says:

    I absolutely LOVE them! The skulls are just perfect on your arm warmers, especially the color combination. Absolutely fabulous, I’ve been looking for an interesting arm warmer style that I could still crochet in during the cold weather coming up, and I think I’ve found the design. I was wondering though, whether or not you used a pattern for the arm warmers themselves. Because though simple, the stitch seems to really work with the colors and the skull. If not, oh well, but thanks for the idea, still can’t get over how perfect they are. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

