Ode to Raymond

It occurred to me that anyone reading this might think that I am a crochet-loving man named Raymond. 

I am definately not!

This is Raymond…

I am most definately not a crazy cat lady who names her blog after her cat… please don’t confuse me with crazy cat loving people!  In fact, I am a dog lover.  You know how people like either cats or dogs?  Well I’m all about dogs. 

On September 23rd 2009, my beloved and I went to the SPCA in Newtown Wellington.  My beloved loves animals and I had decided that my dislike of the feline species was no reason for her to never have another cat.  I had been manifesting a certain cat for us though… I quite like siamese cats because they’re quite strange.  I had been asking the universe for months one of these cats, and told my beloved that we would walk into the SPCA and there would be a siamese cat waiting there for us.  So on that auspicious day, we walked into the SPCA and there he was, in his full glory… a siamese cat who had been dubbed “tikka” and had arrived in the “for sale” part of the SPCA just hours earlier. 

So we adopted him.  He’s now approximately 10 years old, doesn’t have enough teeth to chew biscuits and has extreme co-dependence issues… it has taken a lot of adjustment, co-habiting with such a creature, but I can now officially say that I love him to bits.  He likes to get involved with everything we do.  And I mean everything.  This is why I named this blog crochet with Raymond.  Because everything we do involves Raymond now…and it’s not so bad after all!

So there we have it… I think I am a crazy cat lady who names her blog after her cat after all.

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ode to Raymond

  1. moni says:

    hello … omg .. i have such a blast with you … knitting is my passion as well as music and love and i have to say that you are awesome, love the way you writte and the way you knit and everything !!!
    look for me in facebook i would love to have u as a friend ..
    i send u lots of love, kisses and hugs !!!
    xoxoxoxox
    monica

  2. krusniak says:

    You are quite funny and talented too. I love crochet and a good sense of humor, so thanks for sharing all that you do! Cheers, Kathy

  3. Heather says:

    I have only just discovered your blog, getting back into crocheting with a passion, and I love it.
    Reading through the old stuff I found out about Raymond. After not having a cat for a while we started looking for a kitten and all the coloured ones were unavailable for one reason or another and then we found Harry, a lovely black kitten. We always had black cats before (with names like Vegemite and Licorice) so sometimes some things are just meant to be.

Leave a Reply

